The Student After Life

Valuable lessons to take away from college as the real world approaches

Untitled

on January 25, 2012

Here are two examples of conversations I have when I tell someone that I go to Longwood.

Number 1:

Them: “Where do you go to school?”

Me: “Longwood”

Them: “Are you going to be a teacher?”

Number 2:

Them: “Where do you go to school?”

Me: “Longwood”

Them: “Where is that?”

Me: “Farmville.”

Them: “That’s a real place?!”

 

Yes people, Farmville is a real place. There are hardly (if any) farms at all, so there’s no need to ask if there is more cows than people here in this quaint little town. Longwood, while known for their teaching program, does offer other majors.

I’m often embarrassed to tell people that I’m a 5th-year senior. I often get that, “Oh. What classes did you fail?” face from people, so I try to avoid the situation entirely. The real story? Psychology consumed my life for the first three years here at Longwood.  I never saw myself being the “Tell me how you feel” kind of person, so I did a complete 180 and switched my major to Communication Studies. (Notice there is no “s” at the end of communication.) It was in this major that I was presented this opportunity (okay, more like told to do this for a grade) to write this blog. People often say “College is the best years of your life”, and whether you’ve been here for 1, 2, 3, 4, or yes, even 5 years, I think everyone can find some truth in that statement. This blog is going to offer up some often humorous tips/life lessons I’ve been fortunate enough to learn in my 5 (I’m starting to get less embarrassed now) years here at Longwood and how they can carry over into that real world we’re all trying to avoid.

 

Until next time…

3 responses to “Untitled

  1. Gabby those first two scenarios are oh so true! I actually laughed when I read them because Ive heard that a hundred times. But I look forward to learning about your journey through your 5 years of schooling at Longwood and the tips you have realized along the way. So excited and I can’t wait for the next post!

    -Michelle

  2. Bill Stuart says:

    Um, yeah—I’m pretty sure I identified you as NOT a “tell me how you feel” person the first time I met you (although in fairness–there is more to Psychology than that just as there is more to Communication Studies than talking–but props for not adding the hated extra “s”). I’m curious about what upsides you identify for The Wood. As for 5th year senior–almost no one will ever ask you how long it took you to complete your degree. Mostly, they will just care that you did complete it, and that you know stuff.

  3. Gabby Buehrle says:

    @Michelle- Thanks!

    @Dr. B- Embarrassed was perhaps the wrong word to use when it comes to having to tell people that I’m a 5th year. It’s the….I guess self-realization that “Holy crap, I’ve been in school for 5 years….and now I’m going to be done”. Maybe “shocked” or “surprised” would be better than embarrassed!

Leave a Reply

